Be Still and Know…

10 thoughts on “Be Still and Know…”

  1. Thank you for sharing your story Beth. I’m so sorry for the suffering you’ve endured but grateful you have found your way through it and you are here to amaze us with your thoughtfully written and often very profound offerings. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth, so very powerful and moving. Your words have touched me and I am misty eyed. Not for any personal suffering, but for those close to me. And I think for my future self. I hope I remember and are as brave as you. I am sorry for your suffering, but really happy that you are here now and in all our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As I read this, I found myself saying “Yes, yes” to myself as you described the constant pain, exhaustion, fear, guilt, and despair. When you turned it all over to God and in that stillness asked Him to speak to you, I felt the quiet calmness of that moment with you. So often we (especially us strong women) forget to just “Be still and know that I am.”

    I thank you for sharing this beautiful story. I believe God is using you to speak to all of us in need of the peace of His “still, small voice.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Beth, I couldn’t believe I was reading this inspiring commentary this morning. I have been dealing with treatment and after effects of treatment related to uterine cancer for the last 2 years. There have been stretches of time when the chemo and radiation side effects were very difficult. Recently a PET scan showed a swollen lymph node which could not be biopsied because of its location. A surgery to test it would be difficult. After each bit of negative news, I brought myself back to a place of acceptance that allowed me back into a calmer place. Then last Friday just before my oncologist was about to go on maternity leave she called to say that re-examining the Pet Scan the radiologist was of the opinion that the swelling was due to lymphatic fluid as opposed to being cancer. So now I will wait 8 weeks and have another PET scan & in the meantime I will use your wonderful words 2 sustain and inspire me. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for sharing your story. It is very very similar to my own. I don’t know how I got through each work day either. Add to that other life issues such as suddenly losing most of my hearing and ear surgeries, my daughter being raped and other less traumatic but still painful events made life almost unbearable. Suddenly one day I heard Him say one simple sentence to me. Profound in its simplicity, Profound in the peace that washed over me when I heard it: Be still and know that I am God. That simple phrase made it possible to go on. Love and hugs to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

